[spacer height=”400px”]

Bhutan is located on the southern slopes of the Eastern HimalayasBhutan is located on the southern slopes of the eastern Himalayas, land-locked between the Tibet Autonomous Region to the north and the Indian states of Sikkim, West Bengal, Assam and Arunachal Pradesh to the west and south. It lies between latitudes 26° and 29°N, and longitudes 88° and 93°E. The land consists mostly of steep and high mountains crisscrossed by a network of swift rivers, which form deep valleys before draining into the Indian plains. Elevation rises from 200 m (660 ft) in the southern foothills to more than 7,000 m (23,000 ft). This great geographical diversity combined with equally diverse climate conditions contributes to Bhutan’s outstanding range of biodiversity and ecosystems.

It has a area of 38,394 Sq KM

Weather and Climate
Located in the eastern part of the Himalayas, Bhutan experiences four distinct climatic seasons – winter, spring, summer and autumn. The central districts of Punakha, Wangdue Phodrang, Mongar, Trashigang and Lhuntse enjoy a semi tropical climate with very cool winters, and warm summers. Thimphu, Paro, Trongsa and Bumthang have pleasant summers, but cold and freezing winters with monsoon rains, mainly from June-August. Late September sees the advent of autumn which is convenient season for trekking till November before the winter cold sets in.

Winter months of November through February are generally dry with daytime temperatures sometimes falling below zero degrees Celsius. The valleys experience strong winds which affect the temperatures. The southern part of Bhutan is tropical and in general the east of Bhutan is warmer than the west of the country. Most of the towns in Bhutan are located in river valleys. Travels among these towns involve driving over high passes, along rivers, across valleys and through picturesque villages.

Time Zone
Bhutan is six hours ahead of the GMT and 30 minutes ahead of the Indian Standard Time.

Administrative Division
For the purpose of the administration, Bhutan is being divided into 20 District or administrative blocks known as Dzongkhags. It is furthur sub divided in to block known as Gewog